Loading Events

« All Events

Peer to Peer | Deaf & Hard of Hearing Cohort (Session 2)

May 22 @ 1:00 pm - 3:00 pm

In May, the ALSO Underserved TA Project will host a series of three facilitated peer-to-peer virtual meetings that will last up to two hours aimed at:

  • Promoting mutual learning and support amongst Grantees serving similar populations through their Underserved-funded project; and
  • Identifying best practices for reaching and serving certain populations; and
  • Working together toward creating a tool and/or resource in service of continuing learning and actions related to what was discussed during these meetings.

To learn more about last year’s peer-to-peer series, check out this resource on the Underserved Grantee Portal that was created based on that cohort’s ideas, topics, and suggestions. 

Registration

Each 2-hour virtual meeting will be offered on Zoom and will not be recorded. Grantees are highly encouraged to attend all three meetings–as these are designed to build upon each other–and share their topic(s) of interest during the registration process to benefit most from this experience. You only need to register once to access all three meetings.

Meeting 1: Wednesday, May 8 | 10am-12pm PT/11am-1pm MT/12-2pm CT/1-3pm ET

Meeting 2: Wednesday, May 22 | 11am-1pm PT/12-2 pm MT/1-3pm CT /2-4 pm ET

Meeting 3: Wednesday, May 29 | 10am-12pm PT/11am-1pm MT/12-2pm CT/1-3pm ET

Register Here for the Deaf & Hard of Hearing Cohort Peer-to-Peer Sessions

A Note About Access

Every effort will be made to ensure access at these virtual events, however accommodation requests made less than 2 weeks before each session cannot be guaranteed.

Please remember the following:

  • Use the most updated version of Zoom to give yourself full access to all the Zoom functions available. 
  • Review this resource to familiarize yourself with pinning a participant’s video and adjusting the video layout in a Zoom meeting.
  • If you have any questions about these events or need additional support related to Zoom or troubleshooting access issues, please reach out to your ALSO Underserved TA Team at underservedtaproject@also-chicago.org

About the Meeting Facilitators

Each of the peer-to-peer meetings will be conducted by two experienced facilitators selected to create an enriched experience for grantees participating in these meetings. To learn more about these facilitators read more below. 

  • Liam Esposito (He/Him) is a white deaf autistic trans man who is currently Project Director of Deaf-Led Advocacy at Activating Change. He is also an Adjunct Senior Lecturer at Gallaudet University teaching the Injustices in the Criminal Legal System course. Liam has been at the forefront of the Deaf anti-violence movement work for 23 years – as a board member, volunteer, advocate, executive director, trainer, and consultant – of which 8 years was spent serving IGNITE as executive director before stepping down and focusing on lifting Deaf and hearing anti-violence comrades through training and technical assistance work.
  • Lisa Gilmore, LCPC, M.Ed. (She/Her/They/Them)

Details

Date:
May 22
Time:
1:00 pm - 3:00 pm